Nepal Erdbeben 2015

Alexander von Wiedenbeck - Fashion and Reportage Photography

Nepal Erdbeben 2015

 

April 25th in 2015, a date which the people of Nepal certainly do not forget so quickly. It was the day when the country and especially the city of Kathmandu were haunted by one of the most horrible earthquakes in their history. With nearly 8,000 deaths, the country’s most lethal catastrophe was the subject of history.

This date, this catastrophe, will always be remembered to me, because a few hours before the earthquake, I was still in a hospital in Kathmandu. After my photo-production for the Calendar issue 2016 of CARE austria, I had an intensive food poisoning in the province of Chitwan and I had to be flown out immediately to the next hospital in Kathmandu.

During my treatment there, I was signaled that I should remain there for a few more days until I could get better. But my flight was already booked and the circumstances of the transfer were too great, so after long discussions with the chief physician I left the hospital at my own risk and traveled back to Germany on the early morning of April 25, When I arrived at the airport, I heard about the disaster that had befallen the country immediately after my departure.

I sincerely hope that the so cordial people of Nepal, which I have met on my journey, came back into life, two years after the accident. Since that day and the fate was well with me, I am very sure that one day my ways will lead me there again and we meet again.

Alexander von Wiedenbeck - Fashion and Reportage Photography
Alexander von Wiedenbeck - Fashion and Reportage Photography
Alexander von Wiedenbeck - Fashion and Reportage Photography

Alexander von Wiedenbeck | Nepal Erdbeben 2015
2452
post-template-default,single,single-post,postid-2452,single-format-standard,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode-title-hidden,paspartu_enabled,paspartu_on_bottom_fixed,vss_responsive_adv,qode-content-sidebar-responsive,qode-child-theme-ver-1.0.0,qode-theme-ver-10.1.1,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.0.1,vc_responsive

Nepal Erdbeben 2015

Alexander von Wiedenbeck - Fashion and Reportage Photography

Nepal Erdbeben 2015

 

Der 25. April 2015, ein Datum, welches die Menschen in Nepal sicherlich nicht so schnell vergessen. Es war der Tag, an dem das Land und insbesondere die Hauptstadt Kathmandu von einem der schwersten Erdbeben in deren Geschichte heimgesucht wurden. Mit knapp 8.000 Toten ging es als die tödlichste Katastrophe des Landes in die Geschichte ein.

Auch mir wird dieses Datum, diese Katastrophe immer in Erinnerung bleiben, denn ich war selbst noch wenigen Stunden vor dem Erdbeben in einem Krankenhaus in Kathmandu. Nach meiner Fotoproduktion für den CARE Kalender 2016, hatte ich mir in der Provinz Chitwan eine intensive Lebensmittelvergiftung zugezogen und ich musste unverzüglich in das nächste Krankenhaus in Kathmandu ausgeflogen werden .

Während meiner Behandlung dort signalisierte man mir, dass ich noch einige Tage dort verbleiben sollte, bis es mir wieder besser gehen würde. Da mein Flug aber bereits fest gebucht war und mir die Umstände der Umbuchung zu groß waren, verließ ich nach langen Diskussionen mit der Chefärztin, das Krankenhaus auf eigenes Risiko und reiste am frühen morgen des 25. April 2015 zurück nach Deutschland. Dort angekommen, erfuhr ich erst am Flughafen von diesem Unglück, welches das Land unmittelbar nach meiner Abreise ereignet hat.

Ich hoffe sehr, dass die so herzlichen Menschen in Nepal, welche ich auf meiner Reise getroffen habe, heute, zwei Jahre nach dem Unglück, wieder einigermaßen ins Leben zurück gefunden haben. Da es das Schicksal an jenem Tag gut mit mir meinte, bin ich mir sehr sicher, dass mich eines Tages meine Wege wieder dort hin führen werden und wir uns wiedersehen. 

Alexander von Wiedenbeck - Fashion and Reportage Photography
Alexander von Wiedenbeck - Fashion and Reportage Photography
Alexander von Wiedenbeck - Fashion and Reportage Photography